27.4.06

The Ultimate List of Podcast Aggregators

Podcasting is making audio files (most commonly in MP3 format) available online so that users can automatically download the files to listen whenever they want.

"Podcasting is a way of publishing files to a website that allows users to subscribe to the site and receive new files as they are posted. Most podcasts are spoken word audio created by individuals, often on a particular theme such as technology or movies. Because new files are downloaded automatically by subscribers, podcasting allows individuals to have a self-published, syndicated radio show." (Wikipedia)

Podcasting is a term that derives its name from the iPod, a portable media player manufactured by Apple. The iPod is a small box, about the size of a deck of cards or smaller (depending on the model) that stores and downloads audio files.

The term "podcast" is no longer specifically associated to the iPod as it refers to any combination of software and hardware that allows its users to automatically download and store recorded digital audio files distributed through an RSS feed.

The disruptive power of podcasting stems from all audio broadcasts distributed in a podcast format can be accessed when the user wants it. This also transforms the world of broadcasting (both radio and TV) from one where content was pushed to you at specified times, to a world where you are the puller who can decide what to listen to whenever you wish.

If you are new to podcasting (and you are on a Windows PC), I invite you to download and test the Open Media Network free software. It makes it easy for you to discover all the buzz around podcasting. If you use a Mac, Linux or some other operating system, you can go to the search engines and directories listed in this mini-guide to find and download the content that interests you.

If you are a podcaster or think of becoming one, what I provide here is a comprehensive list of all search engines and directories where you can go to submit your podcast feed to help other people find you.

By submitting your podcast feed to the greatest number of specialty podcast search engines and directories, you make it easier for other people to find your podcasts, while getting your audio podcast noticed.

Here is a comprehensive roundup of all sites that accept podcast submissions, have podcasts, or both.

With Thanks to MasterMedia


Here is my version of the Podcast Search Engine and Directories List of Lists

I have created this to help people quickly find aggregators and post their RSS feed. Under each logo is a link to the aggregators website and another link directly to their RSS submission page. If you have any I have not listed please e-mail me: ammonoid-at-hotmail.co.uk

SingingFish http://search.singingfish.com/sfw/home.jsp

Podcast Alley http://www.podcastalley.com/index.php

Podcast.net http://www.podcast.net/

BlogUniverse Podcast Directory http://www.bloguniverse.com/

Digital Podcast http://www.digitalpodcast.com/

Syndic8 Podcasts http://www.syndic8.com/podcasts/

AllPodcasts http://www.allpodcasts.com/

Podcast Bunker http://www.podcastbunker.com/

Podcasting Station http://www.podcasting-station.com/index.php

Penguin Radio http://www.penguinradio.com/podcasting/

PodcastHost http://podcasthost.com/

Gigadial http://www.gigadial.net/

OpenPodcast http://www.openpodcast.org/

Potkast http://www.potkast.com

podSites.com http://podsites.com/index.cfm

Pocketcasting http://www.pocketcasting.com/

RSS Network http://www.rss-network.com/index.php

Podcast Pickle http://www.podcastpickle.com/

PLAZOO http://www.plazoo.com/

Podcasting News http://www.podcastingnews.com/

Podcast Tools http://www.podcasting-tools.com/

Podcast Directory http://www.podcastdirectory.com

PublicRadioFan http://www.publicradiofan.com/podcasts.html

Podfeeder http://www.podfeeder.com/

Podfeed http://www.podfeed.net/

Podscope http://www.podscope.com/

Open Media Network http://www.omn.org/

Ourmedia http://ourmedia.org/

Internet Archive http://www.archive.org

iPodderx http://ipodderx.com/directory

PodCatch http://www.podcatch.com/

Odeo http://www.odeo.com/

PodcastShuffle http://www.podcastshuffle.com/

IdiotVox http://www.idiotvox.com/

BlogExplosion Podcast Directory http://www.blogexplosion.com/podcast/

blinkx Podcast and Video Directory http://www.blinkx.tv/

Loomia http://www.loomia.com/

Feedzie - Podcast Directory http://www.feedzie.com/feedzie_podcasts.php

iTunes Podcast Directory http://www.apple.com/podcasting/

Submit your podcast feed through iTunes by clicking on "Learn more" about submitting your podcast feed to the iTunes Podcast Directory (it does not work with Firefox) here: http://www.apple.com/podcasting/. This opens iTunes where you can enter the podcast feed.

Blast Podcast http://www.blastpodcast.com/

Bloggdigger http://www.blogdigger.com/

NPR Podcast Directory http://www.npr.org/rss/podcast/podcast_directory.php

EveryPodcast.com http://www.everypodcast.com/

The Podcast Network http://www.thepodcastnetwork.com You can't submit podcast feeds to TPN as it's for its own programs.

Yahoo! Podcasts http://podcasts.yahoo.com/

LearnOutLoud.com http://www.LearnOutLoud.com/

Get A Podcast http://www.getapodcast.com/

Sahfor http://www.sahfor.com/

TelCaster.com http://www.telcaster.com/

Family Friendly Podcasts http://www.familyfriendlypodcasts.com/

PodNova http://www.podnova.com/

podcasts.feedster.com http://podcasts.feedster.com/

PodBlaze http://www.podblaze.com/

Melodeo Mobilcast Network http://www.mobilcastnetwork.com/

Feeds2Read.Net http://feeds2read.net/

Podcast Empire http://www.podcastempire.com/

AmigoFish http://www.amigofish.com/

CastRegister.com http://www.castregister.com/

Fresh Podcasts http://freshpodcasts.com/

fluctu8 http://fluctu8.com/

GoFish http://gofish.com/results-category.html?category=podcast&sortBy=recent

MyPodcastCenter http://www.mypodcastcenter.com/

Podcast Charts http://podcastcharts.com/

podcasterworld.com http://podcasterworld.com/

Podcast Pup http://www.podcastpup.com/

Podcast Mania http://www.podcastmania.com/

Vital Podcasts http://www.vitalpodcasts.com/

- Paul Williams

No comments:

Post a Comment